Lets talk Ulcers

ulcers

Image courtesy: medicalnewstoday.com

I was diagnosed with ulcers about two months ago. Stomach ulcers to be precise. It has been a painful experience so far. Nothing I would wish on anyone including my worst of enemy. Lets face it, those burning sensations and acidity, bloating, nausea and regular heartburn is not a walk in the park.

My mother screamed on the phone upon announcing the doctor’s results. She  kept asking me,  Kwani nini inakustress? ( What is stressing you?)

Everyday after that she would always call to make sure I have had my meals and taken my medicines. Everyone especially my family members were shocked by the news. It was something they did not expect from me.

They have always known me as a  fighter and very patient but also very introvert. I never talk to anyone about my worries or struggles. I suffer in silence and solitude however my emotions betray me all the time. You can always tell from a mile away that there is something bothering me. I simply cannot hide my emotions.

In times like those I love my solitude. I tend to over sleep ,loose my appetite and simply go into a cocoon where I chair a meeting between myself and that inner me. I sometimes cry like all human beings do. I let it all out there between my sheets in the middle of the night, alone in the dark. When I have an inch of a strength left in me I kneel and pray. In the prayer I confront God which is bad manners according to mama.

rererre

Image courtesy: pinterest

The Bible teaches us to be thankful in all circumstances even when you feel that you have reached the end it is not okay to always complain, she always tells me. There will always be that good thing in your life that you can always thank God for. When you are broke and complaining think about the rich person in hospital who has all the money and wealth but they cannot guarantee him good health. Happiness is not from material things. Those are our mama people they always have something to tell you – wise words. Some things you can never evade especially during pain.

Since the day I was diagnosed everything changed, my diet and regular intake of medicine to ease the pain when it attacks. The doctor gave me clear instructions. Eat small meals divided over the course of the day, avoid carbonated drinks like soda, alcoholic drinks and caffeinated drinks like coffee and tea, avoid smoking and spicy foods and limit refined and processed foods such as white bread, sugar, red meat and milk yes, milk.

According to livestrong.com, ” Milk and other dairy products, such as yogurt, coat the lining of the stomach. Because this seems to sooth the ulcer, many believe that drinking milk is one way to help cure an ulcer. On the contrary, milk stimulates the stomach to increase acid production, leading to an increase in ulcer irritation. If you have an ulcer, you should refrain from drinking milk and eating other dairy products as it can delay the healing of your ulcer.”

One day my mom called at night to check on me. She noticed I was not as jovial as I always am, so she enquired what the matter was. I told her “Ni ile tumbo yangu inanisumbua” ( My stomach has been troubling me the whole day). She immediately asked me to never confess a disease as my portion because it was not and she obviously profusely cursed that disease and declared that I was healed and i strongly said AMEN!!

Ulcers not my portion!! Devil you will not steal my joy.

LOVE & MORE LOVE BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE.

Leave a comment